Posted by: Michelle | January 8, 2012

Planes, Trains, Automobiles and a Paddle Boat


The week following Christmas, I couldn’t help but reflect back on the past year and all the places I’d been. Only now it’s 2012 and we are already a week into the near year. I paused to write about our wonderful drive back to Reno last week. After posting the last blog, I realized I never finished the one I started previously. Go figure. So I’ll pick up where I left off…

As 2011 draws to a close, we all reflect on the events of the year. Virtually every news program will dutifully remind us of everything that happened over the year. This, however is my personal reflection on my year. Although I’ve never been a big fan of New Year’s Eve and resolutions, I can’t help but look back at the year in terms of my travel and be amazed at all the miles I accumulated as I traveled the world:

109 flights
166,901 miles
Longest flight – LAX to Bangkok
Traveled through SFO 22 times (with only one overnight when I took a voluntary bump)
International trips – 2 Australia, 2 Europe, 1 APAC (visiting a total of eight countries)
Most connections – 5 (RNO-SFO-LAX-AKL-SYD-MEL)
Longest away from home – 8 weeks
Longest I was at home – 3 weeks

I know my life isn’t for everyone but I happen to love traveling for work. I cannot imagine sitting in a cubicle (although I’ve done it before) when there is a big world out there. Many moons ago, I had my first sales job where I first experience the joys (and hassles) of frequent travel. Back then, I mostly flew Southwest [aka as the company jet], confined mostly to the West Coast with a few exceptions. I experienced the deep chill of Wisconsin in January and the extreme heat of Arizona in August. Despite my monthly trips to the greater Los Angeles, I had fun living the life of a road warrior. In fact, I was more happy on the road than working from my home office. But alas, all good things must come to an end when I lost my position to the sister of the CEO and President. Not the first job I lost to nepotism. Yada, yada, yada. Fast forward to 2008 when my previously in-house role started evolving from client services to client engagement. Once I got the opportunity to be out of the office, working directly with clients, there was no turning back for me. By 2010, I was out of the office more than I was in. And once international opportunities came to fruition, it was a dream come true. Even better, I’ve been able to squeeze in personal time whenever I’ve been overseas.

From regional jets to 747s; cars to tuk tuks; trains to paddle boats; on foot or by bike – my transportation has run the gamut this year. This year I am determined to add a few new modes of transportation and maintain my status to ensure I get plenty of chances to enjoy those bumps up to first class (yes, I have gotten quite spoiled) and add a few more pins in my map. Although my line of sight is somewhat limited on where I might be headed, I know that there will be some business opportunities in some familiar places as well as some new ones. On the personal side of things, I cannot decide where I want to go next – my short list includes Peru, Brazil, Russia [moved up on the list because I was invited by a client], or maybe somewhere more random like Iceland. One thing is certain though; wherever I go, there I’ll be. As cliche as this sounds, life is short and I for one, want to make the most out of whatever opportunities that come my way.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

